The Daddy Shirt

So I’ve had a few people ask me since my last post “what’s the Daddy shirt?” or “the what?” or “ok explain please??”… so okay here is your explanation.

Since Daddy and I can’t be together in our bed every night, and I miss him next to me, we came up with a solution.

Honestly we happened on it accidentally . I missed him a lot so I asked Daddy for one thing. One of his shirts. I was kinda getting tired of curling up alone. I went over to his house one day and he had a shirt ready for me. Grey with a darker trim, some decal stuff on the front and back, and it smelled of him all over. It was perfect.

Every night I curl up with the shirt when Daddy can’t be here. It’s my way of having him in our bed, against my skin, and close to me. I sleep like a baby, all curled up, knowing I’m safe with Daddy. Some nights when I get ready for bed and he’s not here I can’t find the shirt, and I start to freak out. I’ve even cried looking for it. (One night I tried sleeping without it and actually couldn’t sleep at all.)

So tonight, my daughter who just turned 5 today, decides to sleep with Mommy. Okay that’s fine and great. Yes, she takes up most of the bed even though she’s a little girl, but she took my Daddy shirt. She’s all curled up sound asleep, hugging his shirt. I’m wondering if she feels the same way I do about his shirt. If it’s keeping her nightmares away and making her feel even more safe than she already does.

So that’s the explanation of the Daddy Shirt.

Leave a Reply

